Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Studying the CAT project

Drax
Drax Member
edited February 2017 in SmartSDR API
Could someone write up the theory of how the CAT project works?  

I'm studying it trying to figure out the order of operations for instantiating the API objects, finding the radio, opening a panadapter and a slice.  

I have a basic understanding of interfaces, events, etc., but the outline of the concrete process is eluding me as the CAT program seems to use many layers of interfaces and then dynamically generated classes, events, and function calls.  

Stepping through the program I didn't even see where the debugger stepped into Slice.cs or the other Flexlib source code.

Answers

• Drax
    Drax Member
    edited February 2014
    It seems the secret is Spring and AOP.
  • BobT
    BobT Company Adviser
    edited February 2014

Hi Drax,

I'm not quite sure just what information you need but I'll be glad to try to answer your questions. 

With respect to the CAT core itself, you are correct, Spring and AOP are the important elements in CAT.  The most important part is the Spring XMLClassFactory that lets us store the definition of a particular CAT command in an external file and dynamically build CAT command classes on the fly. 

In PowerSDR, all the CAT commands were individual methods, hard-coded and buried in the guts of the code.  It was not particularly hard code to generate, there was just a lot of repetition.  Not a real model of object oriented development :>).  In the new code I can change the parameters of a CAT command by editing an XML file.