Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

SmartSDR for Windows,SmartSDR CAT, PowerSDR, & FLEX RADIO 1500

Don Hamrick
Don Hamrick Member
edited February 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows
KI5SS: Age 60. Former Coast Guard radioman (morse code and radio teletype era) (74-81). I was a merchant **** 1988-2007. I just bought the Flex Radio 1500 a couple of weeks ago. This is my first time with SDR. I am setting it up on my laptop. Purchasing all the parts not completed yet. I am still off-air. I am in the early stage of the learning curve with Flex Radio 1500 & accessories. QUESTIONS: Is the SmartSDR & CAT suitable for Flex Radio 1500? What is the different between PowerSDR and SmartSDR? I have Ham Radio Deluxe (trial version) and Virtual Audio Cable installed on my laptop. Setting it all up will be like walking through a forest of unknowns. But it will be fun learning it all. Are there other recommended programs that run simultaneous with the Flex Radio 1500? I am searching Google and YouTube for tutorials to get me up and running in the education department. Email: ki5ss@yahoo.com.

Answers

• dlwarnberg
    dlwarnberg Member ✭✭
    edited May 2019
    I believe with the FLEX-1500 you will be using PowerSDR, not SmartSDR... SmartSDR is for the FLEX-6XXX series radio's.. second I would recommend you download the documentation for the SmartSDR software and read through it.. that will get you started.  Anything further then that I can not help you as I have no experience with that radio or software...

Sorry and good luck
  • KF4HR
    KF4HR Member ✭✭
    edited February 2017