SmartSDR app asking to pay again?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 9 months ago
  • Answered
Hi Guys,

Having upgraded to version 2* on my 6500, I’ve been really enjoying the SmartSDR app on my iPhone 8 Plus, it works superbly well, with great RX/TX, smooth display and virtually no disernable lag or latency!...even when out mobile using a 3G connection! Top job FlexRadio! :-)

Such a great job in fact, that I thought I’d install SmartSDR onto my older iPad mini, although it’s not a recommended device, it’s uncluttered by other apps and runs pretty fast...I’ve also seen other guys running on the same device without issues.

Anyhow unfortunately the iPad cannot upgrade to IOS 10+, so a message appears, saying that the latest possible, IOS 9+ working version of SmartSDR will be installed. Great I thought, at least it will run.

However ‘restore’ isn’t recognised and the ‘buy’ button when clicked, does not inform me that I already own the app...it asks me if I’m sure I want to pay £54.99?...should I continue with purchase? I really don’t want to pay twice?...or is this as a result of the backward level, app install being attempted?

...or is this a great excuse to buy a new iPad Pro! ;-)
Photo of Richard - MW0XDT

Richard - MW0XDT

  • 61 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes

Posted 9 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Jim Gilliam

Jim Gilliam

  • 858 Posts
  • 183 Reply Likes

Once you purchase the IOS app, Apple keeps record of the purchase. When you press "Buy", Apple will tell you that you have all ready paid for this and that you can upload for free if you elect to.


Jim, K6QE

Photo of Ted  VE3TRQ

Ted VE3TRQ

  • 123 Posts
  • 40 Reply Likes
BUT, you must be using the same (or a linked) AppleID / Apple Store account on the two devices for this to work.
Photo of Richard - MW0XDT

Richard - MW0XDT

  • 61 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Thanks guys, yeah I was expecting when I clicked ‘buy’ the first time, to see Apple recognise the fact I’ve already paid...but like I said, instead I get asked whether I wanna pay £54.99...usually this is the last step before payment...click again and wave goodbye to your money.

By the way, both devices are linked to the same Apple store account (I’ve only got one account) so all apps are bought on these devices using that account.

Thanks again, Rich MW0XDT