Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

SmartSDR 3.0.19 - No-Go over VPN

2»

Comments

• Asher - K0AU
    Asher - K0AU Member ✭✭
    edited May 2019
    Understand your point of view, although I have never been a fan of RDP. It's just one more Windows machine to maintain. Kind of undermines the "thin client" argument for the Flex if I need to plant an extra PC in the rack. And don't I need a VPN for a safe RDP?

I've been running LAN remote for 5+ years now - and happy to share offline how I've worked around all the "features" to make it work.
  • Doug Hall
    Doug Hall Member ✭✭
    edited May 2019
    I understand that VPN usage constitutes a tiny percentage of Flex users, and I also understand that VPN is not a supported configuration. That's acceptable. Having to support VPN users would probably open a big can of worms. But I would be grateful if Flex would at least not penalize the use of a VPN for those of us so inclined, which is essentially what disabling compression does. I am still on 2.4.9, so I can't prove this, but I believe that operating using my hotspot or operating from my son's house would not be practical (or even possible) without compression enabled.

In my case using a VPN offers some advantages. Controlling my amplifier, rotator, antenna switch, and AC power relays is much simpler when they all appear to be on my LAN. No PC needed at the radio end. I don't have to fiddle with router settings or open a bunch of ports, and there are no 3rd parties to rely on. SmartLink is a laudable achievement, but in my case a VPN is a better solution.
    Doug K4DSP

• ctate243
    ctate243 Member ✭✭
    edited May 2019