Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

RX A and bypass of ATU

Chuck - KJ6HT
Chuck - KJ6HT Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows
I received a Pixel Antenna for Christmas and so far it is performing very well. I live in an suburban environment and I am able to null out some very nasty noise. It is attached to my 6500 on RX-A. I am very new to using the RX-A input so this may be normal operation. I have noticed that there are times, it seems to depend on frequency, when I bypass the ATU the noise level on my RX-A drops dramatically. I have observed drops of over -10 dBm in the noise floor according to the mouse-over of the signal strength meter. Why would the ATU have any affect on RX-A? I could understand if I was using ANT1 or ANT2 for receive but RX-A should never be in the circuit for the ATU. This is not a 1.6.17 issue, I observed it on 1.5.1 before I upgraded. Any thoughts?

Answers

• Ken - NM9P
    Ken - NM9P Member ✭✭✭
    edited June 2020
    1) Watch your preamp indicator when you do it and check if there is any change. There may be something glitchy happening there. 2). How close is your pixel loop to you other antenna? Could the tuning of the transmit antenna be detuning your loop or interacting with it in some way. Just a couple stabs in the dark. Ken - NM9P
  • Chuck - KJ6HT
    Chuck - KJ6HT Member ✭✭
    edited January 2018

Hi Ken,

Thanks for the reply. I just double checked, the indicated state of the preamp does not change. I can observe the noise floor drop just by bypassing the ATU, no tuning needs to take place.

Again, thanks for the suggestions.

• Chuck - KJ6HT
    Chuck - KJ6HT Member ✭✭
    edited June 2020