RTTY Signals using SmartSDR 2.4.9

• Question
  • Updated 3 months ago
OK Guys (and Ladies), my reports of success from yesterday may have been not quite accurate!

After my second ever RTTY QSO using a real TTY I got an email from the the other station that said the following:
"One observation.  When you reply to my transmission, you are about 52 hz high.  My tones may be off, or your tones may be off..  The net effect is I retune up the band, and we gradually creep up in frequency."

At least I know why every time I went back to RX with him I had to move up the band a little to copy him clearly.

So I sent a query to the ham that was my first QSO and he replied this morning with this:
"Now that you mention it, I did see that our common frequency was off.  Check into the subject with the Flex community, I think that there is an easy solution."

As a newbie I really have no idea of what, if anything, I should be doing to resolve this issue, so I'm turning to the group.

Any ideas gratefully accepted!

Steve G./N4TTY

Photo of Steve - N4TTY

Steve - N4TTY

• 103 Posts
  • 11 Reply Likes
  • Perplexed

Posted 3 months ago

Photo of Don Cunningham

Don Cunningham

• 31 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Steve,
Are you set with Mark 2125 Space 2295  Shift 170 ?  Some RTTY software programs use different and it doesn't work for me.
Don, WB5HAK
Photo of Steve - N4TTY

Steve - N4TTY

• 103 Posts
  • 11 Reply Likes
Don, the only software involved is SmartSDR as the radio is interfaced directly to a HAL ST-6 and from there to the Teletype M28 KSR. No other software in the picture.

SmartSDR's defaults for RTTY mode are 2125 for the mark tone with a shift of 170.  The RIT and XIT default to 0 (zero), so on my next test, after I transmit the first time as the other station comes back to me I'm going to try changing my RIT by around 50Hz to see if that can be used as a temporary fix until i find the real culprit.