Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Remote SSDR with Smartlink Versus Maestro

jerry stern
jerry stern Member ✭✭
edited December 2019 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
I am a newbie and run my Flex 6700 with a fast dedicated Win10 laptop with 2 external monitors.  I also have everything working remote either using SmartSDR on another laptop on same home LAN or alao set up with Smartlink when away from home.   Wow what great functionality.  Now I am trying to understand why I would want a Maestro?  Except for the traditional buttons and knobs, what other functionality does the Maestro offer over my laptop running SmartSDR with or without Smartlink?

Jerry NY2KW

Answers

• DV
    DV Member ✭✭
    edited December 2018
    You can use the Maestro as a control for your 6700 and have real buttons and knobs.  I use it at the ham shack and remote. 
  • jerry stern
    jerry stern Member ✭✭
    edited December 2019
    Yes buttons and knobs are nice but other than that are there any other functions that can only be had with the Maestro compared to a remote Laptop and headset running Smartlink?
  • DV
    DV Member ✭✭
    edited December 2018
    It's more than "nice" to some of us. I have both and there is a different and more pleasant feel to running with a rig that has knobs.  With a laptop you always have to worry the cursor over your virtual control. I suppose this comes from  50+ years as a ham running radios with knobs. You do have nearly all the functions on the Maestro, but you are limited to two slices.
  • Bob K8RC
    Bob K8RC Member ✭✭✭
    edited December 2018