Provide selectable option to allow upgrade/ downgrade to save profiles before processing

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 1 month ago
Add a function to the upgrade/downgrade process to automatically save off existing profiles into a new FRS  directory (and not overwrite existing saved profile information) prior to executing the upgrade/downgrade process.

This will allow retrieval of the profiles should the op forget to save them before starting the upgrading/downgrading process
Photo of Pat N6PAT

Pat N6PAT

  • 709 Posts
  • 245 Reply Likes

Posted 1 month ago

  • 1
Photo of David-N5PSM

David-N5PSM

  • 139 Posts
  • 30 Reply Likes
I am sorry but this does not make sense,  The software must be running to backup or restore profiles and the software must be stopped for the upgrade or downgrade.  It is much more reliable to NOT automate too much,  However possibly a reminder message would help? 
Photo of Bill W2PKY

Bill W2PKY

  • 509 Posts
  • 86 Reply Likes
I think it's a good idea for SSDR to keep a copy of profiles in the directory associated with the version running. This may be a problem for "M" type machines. However, perhaps a network drive address could be stored in "M" type machines to facilitate saving the profiles. Seems like an easy routine to program.