Please get rid of Anonymous Posting

• Idea
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Not Planned
During the recent conversations we got a niumber of anonymous posts that were clearly based on wrong or outdated information. It was pretty obvious that the anonymous posters had intended to missinform the questioners and maliciously lead them astray

They get away with such deeds because they can post anonymously and there is no recousre to them.

I would suggest that this community at least require a valid call sign or equivalent identification before anyone be allowed to,post heir opinions
Photo of KY6LA - Howard

KY6LA - Howard, Elmer

• 3642 Posts
  • 1473 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

Photo of W7NGA

W7NGA

• 437 Posts
  • 185 Reply Likes
Howard .. weren't you once complaining about the 'nanny state' ?

big grin ...
(Edited)
Photo of Steven Hess

Steven Hess

• 79 Posts
  • 19 Reply Likes
I check in with Google ID.. Google knows I'm a radio amateur. It's not hard to be verified as a licensed operator or the fact you own a Flex Radio or two or three.

KC6KGE 
Photo of Bill -VA3WTB

Bill -VA3WTB

• 3181 Posts
  • 706 Reply Likes
We will just keep calling them out Howard and correct what they say. I know exactly what you mean. And I know there are a few here that see us as Flex guards or what ever, but on purpose bad info is just wrong. And we do know who they are, the same ones.
Photo of Tim - W4TME

Tim - W4TME, Customer Experience Manager

• 9153 Posts
  • 3496 Reply Likes
Official Response
Howard,

Not everyone who purchases our radios are hams, so the callsign requirement is a bit limiting.  And some people are more privacy conscience and may not want to give their call and they have the right.