New to flex

• Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
Hi all,I'm new to sdr my new flex 6500 comes on Tuesday,I was wondering if it's best to set up as per the instructions with one internet connection from radio to my laptop with supplied cable or would I be better having two connections I.e. One from my router to radio and one from my router to laptop,hope this makes sense to someone,I have the flex control k6tu and I was thinking of also getting the ipad app to use my iPad Air,hope this makes sense to someone and any help would be great.
Photo of Tony Hateley

Tony Hateley

• 308 Posts
  • 25 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

Photo of Mack McCormick

Mack McCormick, Elmer

• 513 Posts
  • 179 Reply Likes
Official Response
Either way will work perfectly. I recommend plugging it into your router. That way you can use your laptop while mobile.
Photo of Ray Andrews, K9DUR

Ray Andrews, K9DUR, Elmer

• 251 Posts
  • 63 Reply Likes

Tony,

I concur with Mack.  If you go through your router, then the radio is on the LAN & can be accessed by any computer also on the LAN, such as your iPad.  If you go direct from the radio to your computer, then only that computer will have access to the radio.

73, Ray, K9DUR

Photo of Steve N4LQ

Steve N4LQ

• 568 Posts
  • 92 Reply Likes
A 6500 directly connected to your computer is less likely to be penetrated by foreign hackers who could use your station to transmit number groups for espionage purposes.
Photo of Andrew O'Brien

Andrew O'Brien

• 384 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
No there's an idea!
Photo of Mike Hoing

Mike Hoing

• 281 Posts
  • 43 Reply Likes
Mine is through a router and does fine.

My concern is the laptop. I have read reports there have been issues but not always so let us know

Mike
N9DFD
Photo of Bill-W9OL

Bill-W9OL

• 726 Posts
  • 56 Reply Likes
A further question about going through a router.
My comcast cable box only has a few ports.