New to flex

• Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
Hi all,I'm new to sdr my new flex 6500 comes on Tuesday,I was wondering if it's best to set up as per the instructions with one internet connection from radio to my laptop with supplied cable or would I be better having two connections I.e. One from my router to radio and one from my router to laptop,hope this makes sense to someone,I have the flex control k6tu and I was thinking of also getting the ipad app to use my iPad Air,hope this makes sense to someone and any help would be great.
Photo of Tony Hateley

Tony Hateley

• 309 Posts
  • 25 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

Photo of Jon - KF2E

Jon - KF2E

• 684 Posts
  • 226 Reply Likes
Tony,

As long as your router has gigabit port on it I don't think it will matter. Having the connection through your router will also provide your laptop with an internet connection.

Jon...kf2e
Photo of Tony Hateley

Tony Hateley

• 309 Posts
  • 25 Reply Likes
The router has 4 ports on it but I don't know if they are gigabit ports as you say
Photo of Phill Beistel

Phill Beistel

• 31 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes

Hi,

I had mine connected to a 100meg switch and it worked fine. Your router will probably to 100meg unless its really old.

Photo of Tony Hateley

Tony Hateley

• 309 Posts
  • 25 Reply Likes
It's about 2 years old supplied by orange network or ee as it's called now
Photo of KY6LA - Howard

KY6LA - Howard, Elmer

• 3784 Posts
  • 1637 Reply Likes
Definitely use the router. If it seems slow, call Orange and have them update it to a gigabit router

You will need the wifi connection from the router to run the K6TU App which by the way is an excellent adjunct to my radio.
Photo of Bob- W5TX

Bob- W5TX

• 122 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes