Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

New Router Here Linksys WRT3200ACM

Philip KA4KOE
Philip KA4KOE Member ✭✭
edited August 2019 in New Ideas
This is an involved process for a bricks n' mortar double E. I've performed a lot of research and it seems that the recommended wireless router is one that is "gaming" class. I'm still learning how to set up a Linksys WRT3200ACM which is touted by lots of different folks as the "bee's knees". I also upgraded my Comcast router to dual band. So the network configuration is this....

1. Downstairs cable modem/router from Comcast is set to 2.4 GHz, lets say Net 1.

2. Upstairs Linksys wireless router set to repeater mode, linked to Net 1 via 2.4 GHz. I don't think I can link to the downstairs cable modem/router via a different channel to avoid traffic packets from others in this household.

3. Upstairs wireless router hardwired to Flex 6300 via LAN cabling as is my shack computer. Wireless up here is set to 5 GHz and called Net 2.  Local use of Maestro via Net 2 is fine as long as I am hardwired. I plan to have no other traffic to the Maestro when I am using it via it's dedicated 5 GHz channel. Probably should log off the main shack computer so no "I'm alive" packets get sent back and forth.

4. I intend to set static IPs for all upstairs devices; ie Linksys WRT3200ACM, my computer, and the Maestro, either hardwired or via WIFI.

5. Roll back SmartSDR to 1.8.**** prior to 1.9.****.

Anyone have any recent experience with flashing the WRT3200ACM with DD-WRT? The router is advertised as DD-WRT upgradable.

I'll keep all posted. This router upgrade was prompted by the problems previously experienced by myself and others here.