Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

MAESTRO/FLEXRADIO FAMILY 6000 IN WAN

Options
Hi All,

Considering that in current days isn't easy to instal an antenna in apartments of the big cities. So, my idea is to buy FLEXRADIO/MAESTRO and operate remotely with the antennas in my house of weekend.I'm novice here and in the SDR, but in the radio I have almost half century.

But, before to buy the FLEXRADIO 6500 with MAESTRO, I have a question and If possible I would like to count on the friends to clarify me.

The question is the following:

I not read nothing how to connect the MAESTRO in a WAN to operate the FLEXRADIO family 6000. I know that perhaps is possible, but I would like to know if is easy, because in the side of the antenna/FLEXRADIO, will be my father, that not have knowledge to make adjusts or configuration in computer.

I thank a lot any information.
PY1UNU

Answers

• Jim Gilliam
    Jim Gilliam Member ✭✭
    edited July 2016
    Options

The Flex and Maestro are not usable on a WAN unless you use a virtual private network (VPN) or a remote desktop like Teamviewer. My advice to you is to buy only the Flex and use a computer if you want to operate through a WAN. After you become familiar with the techniques of getting around the WAN usage, you might consider augmenting your system with the Maestro. However, the Maestro will not provide you anymore remote functions than using a computer and SmartSDR.

Flex has yet to make their 6000 radios directly usable over a WAN, just a LAN. I have no idea when the WAN feature will become available.

Jim, K6QE

• Jon_KF2E
    Jon_KF2E Member ✭✭
    edited July 2018
    Options