Is it possible to connect a straight key along with paddles?

• Question
  • Updated 9 months ago
I currently use CW paddles on my Flex 6400M but would also like to have a straight key ready to use.  Is there any way to connect a straight key and keep the paddles on also?
Photo of Jim Miller

Jim Miller

• 13 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 11 months ago

Photo of Craig - KØCF

Craig - KØCF

• 239 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
Yes, connect it to the Accessory connector on the back panel. Pin 4 is the keying input, and use one of the ground pins (pins 5, 6, 7, 8 or 10) for the ground side. See section 7.3.5 of your Flex-6400M / Flex-6600M User Guide.
Photo of Jim Miller

Jim Miller

• 13 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Thanks Craig!  I am still new with the Flex and having some problems gettings connected.  I really appreciare your reply.]
Jim-WA5EF
Photo of John - K3MA

John - K3MA

• 405 Posts
  • 139 Reply Likes
You could also fabricate/buy  a Y cable.  Of course you would need to see if the Settings....Radio Setup....Phone/CW....menu selections need to be changed depending upon which you want to use.
(Edited)
Photo of Jim Miller

Jim Miller

• 13 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I considered that but wouldn’t that require a reconfiguration of the settings for CW? Thanks-Jim
Photo of Dick Bean

Dick Bean

• 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
My Accessory input already has a connector installed for my amplifier, so in looking at the settings there does not seem to be a way to use the front panel key receptacle for a straight key. Is that correct?  
Photo of Craig - KØCF

Craig - KØCF

• 239 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
Yes there is a way. From the SmartSDR User Guide:
"To transmit in CW mode using the keyer built-into the Flex-6000 radio, you will need either a straight key or an iambic paddle. Refer to the FLEX-6000 Hardware Reference Manual for wiring instructions.

To use a straight key, uncheck the IAMBIC control in the CW transmit panel."