Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

IC7300

13»

Comments

• Barry N1EU
    Barry N1EU Member ✭✭
    edited December 2016
    Nah, it's not going to happen.  They're pretty much sold out in the USA right now at $1500.  Maybe $1200-$1300 this summer though.
  • W9OY
    W9OY Member ✭✭
    edited April 2016
    You may see $50 off during Icom days or at Dayton. This radio was designed to maximize Icom's profits worldwide and will be marketed as such.
  • Walt - KZ1F
    Walt - KZ1F Member ✭✭
    edited November 2016
    I'd be shocked if there wasn't way more margin in that pricing than any of their other radios. Not that I'm an ICOM expert. But, if I wanted to pinch US manufacturers, I'd do something like that.
  • W9OY
    W9OY Member ✭✭
    edited April 2016
    I would be more than shocked I would be incredulous.  The radio apparently sold out in the US in 2 weeks, shooting the **** out of Dayton discretionary impulse budgets.  Flex did a similar thing 2 years ago at Dayton, except Flex doesn't have front page back page and center page advertising in the magazines like Icom, so Flex used word of mouth.  Icom simply pulled a page out of Flex's playbook after they recognized the hunger for SDR.  This year Flex is gunning for the contest and DX market.  Soon enough those 7300 owners will be in the market for a real SDR.  Once the bigshot at the local ham club trades in his pair of K3S's for a 6700, Flex will have nothing to fear regarding sales.  The bigshot will do the selling for them, just the same as he did for Elecraft in the past.