Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

HRD not properly keying Flex 6600M to Transmit

Mike Peron
Mike Peron Member ✭✭
edited January 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows

This is my first post after receiving my new Flex 6600M about one month ago. I have started integration of third-party software (e.g. HRD and WSJT-X). Decided on HRD first since I have many years’ experience with it running on old Win 7 laptop, Navigator Interface and TS-590 Xcvr.

Downloaded latest SmartSDR v2.4.9 which runs the Flex just fine using a newer Windows 10 HP Spectre x360 laptop (connected to Wifi since no Ethernet socket). Successfully downloaded the latest HRD v6.4.0.905. Purposely have not yet downloaded any other third-party apps like SliceMaster, DDUtil or MiniDeluxe since I’m not sure which one would be best. As such, I am doing the integration “brute force”. I followed as much as possible, Tim Ellison’s online “SmartSDR – Ham Radio Deluxe – DM780 How To Setup Guide dated 9/15/18.

DAX set to Ch 1. Opened DAX Control Panel and clicked the “1” RX Streams Slice “A” button which turned blue then saw red volume bar moving with receiver audio. Switching to SmartSDR CAT I saw that COM Port 5 was selected for CAT. Per the instructions I added another COM Port (6) for PTT and ensured RTS & DTR were both selected Blue.