Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

How to use the Transverter

W2PP
W2PP Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
So, I've never used a transverter before and I have some foundational questions.  I have almost all the DEMI and Q5 Signal stuff here now.  But, a few questions remain.

So, if the IF for the 1296 and 430 xverters are both 28 MHZ, and the, for example, 1296 xverter goes from 1296 to 1300, or, 34 mhz, and the 70 cm gores from 430 to 450 Mhz, how does one actually "see" all that spectrum?  In other words, if the IF is 28 mhz, and the xverter has a bandwidth that is measured in the tens of MHZ how do you tune  that??????

I'll have more questions but I wanted to start with this one, can't be the only guy who doesn't know!!

Peter
W2PP

Answers

• Rick - W5FCX
    Rick - W5FCX Member ✭✭
    edited May 2018
    Based on some YouTube demo videos I found, if the bandwidth of the transverter is less than the ham band of interest, then you can create several mappings to access each band segment.  For example, if the transverter bandwidth is 2 Mhz, then on 2 meters you can create 2M-1 and 2M-2 segments that map 28 Mhz to 144 Mhz and 146 Mhz to access the entire 4 Mhz.  That's my understanding of how to do it.
  • W2PP
    W2PP Member ✭✭
    edited May 2018
    Thanks Rick, but I may not have been clear.  I just went in and created two xverter bands
    1296 and 430 mhz.  It looks like the radio takes care of all that math. 

Meaning, the IF might be 28 mhz, but it looks like the radio actually, in the case of 430 to 450 must transmit at very low power from 28 mhz to 48 mhz to make the conversion work.