Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

How to use the REM ON (Remote On) RCA plug on Flex 6300

Roy Finch
Roy Finch Member
edited February 2019 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
Hi There,
Please can someone help? The REM ON (Remote On) RCA plug on the back of the FLEX-6300. I need some very simple to follow instruction on how I can use the REM ON RCA as I am a complete newbi to Flex and HAM Radio. How does the connection work? I have either the WEMo or the Global Cache iTach - TCP-IP to Contact Closure/Relay, So how do I get from a RCA cable plugged into the Flex to the RCA cable being connected to either of the afore mentioned?

Answers

• George KF2T
    George KF2T Member ✭✭✭
    edited February 2019
    It's just a closure. With the Wemo, you'll want to build a power supply and relay box (diagram is here on theCommunity - search). For the Global Cache, there are wire connections that provide a closure. Either way, make sure the function is set ON in your radio settings.
  • Jim Gilliam
    Jim Gilliam Member ✭✭
    edited September 2018

Eventually, if you want to remote everything from your computer in another room, or, eventually, over the Internet, you will need an Internet remote relay unit. It is addressable over the Internet and you remotely toggle this relay(s) on/off. Connect one of the relays to the remote input of the Flex and, when the relay is closed, the radio is turned on, opening the relay, the unit will turn off.

I was hoping that Flex could remote the power with software but, apparently since this hasn't been done; the above will be a requirement for full remote capabilities.

Jim, K6QE

• Roy Finch
    Roy Finch Member
    edited February 2015