Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

How do I config WSJT-X for new 6600 Radio?

Neal Pollack, N6YFM
Neal Pollack, N6YFM Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows
I just powered up my new 6600 radio today after cabling it up.
Disclaimer:  This is my first Flex, and I have never used SmartSDR before.
I have, though, made 5,000 contacts with WSJT-X and JTDX on an Icom and Yaesu rig.

After googling and reading, all I can find is Flex tutorials that are outdated, or for previous versions of software and radios.  I have just installed WSJT-X ver 1.9.1 today.  Verified it is working on the Icom 7300.

Some of the wrong and outdated tutorials here say to use rig TS-2000, others say to use Rig setting Flex 6xxx in the radio setup menu of WSJT-X.   Then, some articles say to make a TCP CAT port mapping, but don't point to how, or even link to documentation.

Does anyone else have a new 6400 or 6600 and have WSJT-X working?
And if you don't like typing a long "how to config" tutorial (Which is really needed, by the way),
would you be willing to chat on the phone?

Cheers,

Neal

Answers

• Ria
    Ria Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2019
    This is my standard answer:

https://community.flexradio.com/flexradio/topics/ft8-setup-with-flex-6300

You do need 1.9 and up for the 6600 or 1.8 with a special patch, but 1.9 is recommended anyway since it has new features including the DXpedition mode.
  • Ria
    Ria Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2019
    If you need further assistance (eg. TeamViewer or a phone call) email me. I'm good in QRZ.
  • Mike-VA3MW
    Mike-VA3MW Administrator, FlexRadio Employee, Community Manager, Super Elmer, Moderator admin