Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Ho Do I Configure: Demi L144-28 xverter and Flex 6600

Neal Pollack, N6YFM
Neal Pollack, N6YFM Member ✭✭
edited December 2018 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
I have a Flex 6600.   I just received a Demi Q5 Transverter, L144-28  2 meter unit.
I have IF drive level:  0 to +20 dBm
Common IF.
Common TX/RX Antenna jack.
Keying:  PTT to Ground.

I have never used a transverter before, and wanted some help understanding some
items before I try to hook it up wrong.

A.  The included data sheet with the Transverter mentions sequencer steps 1 through 3.
I do not know what these are for.   Do you have to wire up something to the aux connector?

B.   I assume with common IF connector, I just run a good quality BNC 50 ohm cable
from the Flex 6600 Xverter-A port to the Demi IF port, right?

C.   I assume I should hook tx2 or tx3 output to the transverter and enable in SmartSDR radio
setup?  (I have tx1 to a HF amp, and tx2 to a shack xmit light.)

D.   Any pointers on setting up the Flex 6600 side configuration screens?

I do understand where to connect my 10Mhz reference.  I have an out-board GPSDO
and 10Mhz distribution amp.

I should mention that I am not using any special antenna or mast mounted pre-amp.
To learn a little about what is out there, I just plan to switch in the 2m/440 dual-band
base antenna I use on the my shack mobile rig.   I simply want to try monitoring for
some terrestrial/local SSB and simplex FM, and then try to see if I can receive a sat
downlink, even though a vertical base antenna may or may not get a short moment,
or simply not have enough gain.