Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Help on setting up CW & iambic key for newbie

Rob Laws
Rob Laws Member
edited August 2017 in SmartSDR for Windows
I am very new to CW and learning CW.  I want to use an iambic key and also practice without transmitting on my Flex 6500.  I have searched the Smart SDR software manual and outside of how to select CW and plug in the key, there is not much info on what dropdown selections to use etc.  Is there a tutorial video on youtube on how to setup and get going?  Is there a way I can practice and hear the tone through my speakers or headset without transmitting? I'm fine using Digi modes and SSB on the Flex, but have never tried CW and want to learn. Thanks, Rob W2RCL

Answers

• Andrew O'Brien
    Andrew O'Brien Member ✭✭✭
    edited April 2017
    You can select TRANSVERTER for your antenna instead of Ant 1 or Ant 2
    Andy K3UK
  • Steve W6SDM
    Steve W6SDM Member ✭✭✭
    edited April 2017
    Welcome to CW, Rob.  I have been doing CW for over 50 years and still haven't gotten tired of it.

What you're doing is using your Flex as a code practice oscillator.  While that will work, you're using a lot of expensive equipment for something that can be accomplished with some very inexpensive and very portable circuitry.