Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Heatsinks are falling off in 6400 and 6600 models.

Comments

• Wayne
    Wayne Member ✭✭
    edited May 2018
    Thanks for your reasearch Bill.
  • Bill -VA3WTB
    Bill -VA3WTB Member ✭✭✭
    edited May 2018
    Wish I was an expert, but I'm not, I am trying to share what I know, and I trust the engineers at flex to do what works best, they have a lot of skin in the game so to just throw something out there hopping it works?. They are very good at what they do, in my opinion.
  • Gerald-K5SDR
    Gerald-K5SDR FlexRadio Employee ✭✭
    edited May 2018
    The back of the board is a much better thermal sink that the chip top, which is plastic.  The chip is designed to sink through a thermal pad to the ground plane under the part.  The bottom of the board is solid ground plane.  We measure the results with an infrared thermal camera.
  • Gerald-K5SDR
    edited May 2018
    The back of the board is a much better thermal sink that the chip top, which is plastic.  The chip is designed to sink through a thermal pad to the ground plane under the part.  The bottom of the board is solid ground plane.  We measure the results with an infrared thermal camera.
  • Gerald-K5SDR
    edited May 2018
    Fred,
    We emailed everyone to whom we shipped radios before April 12 so if they did not receive the email it is probably in their spam folder.  I can assure you that our intent was to notify everyone.
    Gerald

• Gerald-K5SDR
    edited May 2018
    You can tie wrap them back on until you receive the replacements.
  • Gerald-K5SDR
    edited May 2018