Has the bug in V2.4.9 that would not allow transmit on the 630 & 2200 meter bands been fixed in V3?

• Question
  • Updated 5 months ago
I do not use remote operating nor do I have any use for the multiFlex feature in V3.  I am interested in operation on the 630 & 2200 meter bands and that is not possible with V2.4.9 and that was my primary interest in upgrading to V3.  However, I did not see in the changelog list for V3 that the bug preventing transmit on 630 & 2200 meters has been corrected. 

I was also disappointed to learn that the DXLab package is not supported in V3.  Since I have been using DXLab for many years and wish to continue using it, I see no reason to upgrade to V3.

The next question is.  Will the next update to V2 fix the transmit bug for 630 & 2200 meters?

I upgraded to the Flex-6600 last October from a fully loaded (including VU) Flex-5000a that I used for eight years.  I also invested in transverters for the 144, 222, 432 & 1296 bands to go with the 6600 and with the expectation that I would also be able to operate on 630 & 2200 meters.  I hope I did not make a poor decision!  
Photo of John Swink

John Swink

• 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 months ago

Photo of Lucas - W6AER

Lucas - W6AER

• 72 Posts
  • 17 Reply Likes
My understanding is that in order to operate the 630 and 2200 meter bands, one needs to use the XVRT port which has very low power output and therefore needs amplification. If there is another way, can someone please jump in. But I am not aware of another way.

I purchased a small 5W amp on ebay ($50 or so I think it was) to play around with it and to try and modify my 160m antenna (via a loading coil and bucket variometer) but have not had much time. I can receive wonderfully on both 630 and 2200 using the 160m antenna and have let it run overnight with WSPR. Picked up a dozen stations, mainly on 630 but there is some activity on both bands.