Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex, Transverter, and Satellites!

Ken - NM9P
Ken - NM9P Member ✭✭✭
edited June 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows
This is going to cost me some money soon!

After finishing up 8 Band DXCC and 9 Band WAS this month....i needed some else to do...

So I just started playing with my little Ukranian 2 Meter transverter on the satellite downlink bands on 2 Meters.

I am currently receive only, but what fun! 
It is amazing to watch the birds show up on the display as they come into range, and peak as I turn the antenna.  Even without a mast-mount preamp, circular polarization, or AZ-EL rotation, I am getting excellent copy on many of the birds, especially when they are at low angles.  
I can't think of a better way to get the downlink signals than a Flex 6000 rig!

Now I need to get a simple transmit antenna up for 435/6 MHz so I can transmit with my IC-706MK2G and get online with full duplex satellites. 

This is likely to get expensive.....but what fun!
If only my neighborhood wasn't filled with VHF garbage RFI....

Anyone have a recommendation for a good sat tracker program that will interface with PSTRotator so I can have it turn my antenna automatically?  I am currently using Orbitron.  It is old but works.  I haven't been able to get Nova running on my Win 10 Machine,

Ken - NM9P

Comments

• N8SDR
    N8SDR Member ✭✭
    edited June 2020
    Hi Ken, I ordered those transverters last week for 2M and 440M they should be here within the following week or so, inside HRD there is a satellite function I have not used it yet , but recall it being there, if you already have HRD you might want to check and see if it fits your needs.