Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex 6600 with Dogpark SDR

Hello all, I am currently considering putting down a deposit for a Flex 6600.  I am new to amateur radio and my first rig is a ICOM7300, the plan would be to run the FLEX with Dogpark SDR , upgrading to a  Maestro at a later date . My question is how does Dogpark SDR compare to the offering from Flex and will it "hobble" my use of the Flex 6600.  Thanks, Richard Hubbard (2E0EFS)

Answers

• K3DCW
    K3DCW Member ✭✭
    edited April 2019
    Richard,

The answer is "it depends".  dpSDR supports most of the features, but if you normally would use something like DAX or the CAT features in SmartSDR for Windows, then you might miss them in OS X. If you're a digital fan, then you'll have to work through a couple of (small) configurations to get everything working together, but it has all been documented and done before. For most day-to-day uses, it works wonderfully. 

dpSDR also offers some neat features not yet found in SmartSDR for Windows, such as the DX spots showing up right on the waterfall (if you're using MacLoggerDX as well).  Perhaps those who've been around longer can tell you just how much they've asked for that feature in Windows, but it has yet to happen.

I bounce between dpSDR, SmartSDR for Windows and SmartSDR for iOS without missing a beat; it all depends upon which computer I'm at.  I've contested from macOS using dpSDR, and I've done it from Windows and the iOS app; I haven't felt like I'm missing anything.  

Dave
  • Richard Hubbard
    edited May 2017
    Hello Dave,