Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex 6500 with Maestro Noise Reduction and Noise Blanker

Moose
Moose Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows
I'm considering buying a Flex 6500 with the Maestro. This would be a second radio for me along with an Icom IC-7600. I'm considering either the 6500 or a Yaesu FTDX-5000 or FTDX-9000 (I can get a used 9000 for about the same money as the Flex package I am considering). 

I'm primarily a SSB phone operator in public service so I sometimes spend several hours on the radio. Good noise reduction and listening comfort are important to me. I believe several years ago there were some issues with the NR and NB features in SmartSDR. How well has that matured since then? How well the NR and NB features currently work? Does the NR and NB work different in the Maestro than in SmartSDR?

The Flex 6500 and Maestro combination look like it would be awesome to operate, I just wouldn't want to spend that kind of money and be disappointed in features such as NR and NB that are very well implemented in radios such as those I referenced above.

73 Chris AK4SK

Answers

• David
    David Member ✭✭
    edited October 2017
    The Maestro is a hardware knobs and button solution and uses the same software SSDR so there is no  difference on the filtering. I have found the filtering to be very good. One of the issues is learning how to use them effectively. I would suggest if possible you visit someone local that has a FlexRadio and try it out or do a remote session with someone. Keep in mind they offer a 30 day trail that you might want to consider.
  • EA4GLI
    EA4GLI Member ✭✭✭
    edited October 2017