Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex 6400M noise floor

N4QM
N4QM Member ✭✭
My new 6400M has a -120dBm noise floor which equates to a constant S4 on the S meter with a terminated antenna input on 80M and 0dB gain.  On 10M the noise floor is -114 and the S meter reads a constant S5 under the same conditions.  Is this normal?  I have not connected the radio to an antenna yet, I am still learning all the menu options with the help from friends who have 6000 series Flex radios.  They all tell me that under the same conditions their radios are around -130 to -135 dBm, which is what I was anticipating seeing on my radio.  Is this a "normal" condition, or is something else going on with my radio?

73, de N4QM

Answers

• WX7Y
    WX7Y Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2020
    Where is your pre-amp settings on those bands?
    When you say "terminated antenna input"  how is it terminated?  50 Ohm Dummy load right on the back of the radio is the only way to test this correctly. 
    Could be noise right in your shack getting into to the extremely sensitive receiver of the 6400 if you have any cable at all or the Antenna port is open, I have much more noise when I have  the Antenna port open to the world and not terminated.

73's
    Bret
    WX7Y

• Rich McCabe
    Rich McCabe Member ✭✭✭
    edited April 2018
    For what its worth into a dummy load my 6600 is almost -140 and under S1 on the bands you mentioned.

• Mike KE4U
    Mike KE4U Member
    edited May 2019