Flex 6300 or 6500

• Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
Excuse me if this is a dupe. I am within a week of ordering either a 6300 or 6500. I'm a casual operator age 63 who finds a 5000 much easier to listen to than any top of the line superhet with DSP add-ons. I expect the signature radios to be that much more enjoyable. Also find comfort in buying more than I need now (faster FPGA, 4 vs 2 slices). Any recommendations?
Photo of Bill Roberts

Bill Roberts

• 196 Posts
  • 30 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of Jon - KF2E

Jon - KF2E

• 623 Posts
  • 180 Reply Likes
Bill,

First let me caution you that SSDR is not as mature as PSDR. There are many features that have not yet been implemented in SSDR that work well in PSDR. Some examples are DSP is much better in PSDR, the 5000 ATU has memories and SSDR doesn't. Once you get past the software differences the 6300/6500 have similar capabilities. I believe the 6500 has a preselector that might help if you are in an area with broadcast stations nearby. I have a 6500 but find that I rarely have more than one slice open. I use a SteppIR antenna and it is only resonant on one band at a time. I could listen to other bands on an antenna that wasn't tuned to it but never seem to find a reason to do it.

Jon...kf2e
Photo of Jon  W1JDB

Jon W1JDB

• 146 Posts
  • 35 Reply Likes

Bill,

Jon (the other one) makes some good points.

I can't quite tell if you are a current 5000 user that is upgrading or how much you have used other's 5000 radios.

I started with a 3000 and the traded up to a 5000 which I still have at the moment. I purchased a 6300 based on the cost factor and the way I generally operate at this point. I was a good fit.