Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Filter contour - roll your own?

N7CXI
N7CXI Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in New Ideas
I'd like to have a slider to change the receiver filter contour. Something that starts off fairly soft, then sharpens up to the current shape.

My reason for asking is because at least to my ears the current filter shape is too sharp for casual use and causes fatigue over time.

Thanks,
--jim (N7CXI)

Comments

• Jim Gilliam
    Jim Gilliam Member ✭✭
    edited June 2020
    I am not an expert on filters, but it seems if there is fatigue, you could use the equalizer to gradually roll off the lower and higher frequency content.
  • N7CXI
    N7CXI Member ✭✭
    edited August 2016
    Yes, you could approximate it that way. It would be a little clumsy, since you'd need to manipulate a number of sliders to change it, and the results would not jibe with what you see in the panadapter.

I don't know what method Flex uses to generate their filter coefficients, but most common methods allow for manipulating the stopband to passband transition area. Some even allow for arbitrary response "sketching", which would be nice for custom digital-mode filters.

Since $1500 ICOM radios offer soft/sharp contours and since it *probably* wouldn't be a huge technical challenge, I'm thinking it would be nice to have a similar feature in a considerably more expensive radio.  I don't know much about the Flex team's design compromises though - implementing and displaying it in the GUI might raise an issue or two. Fortunately for me, I can make suggestions without much consideration for the work required. ;-)

--jim (N7CXI)

• Ken - NM9P
    Ken - NM9P Member ✭✭✭