Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

External tuner with Flex 6300 and ACOM Amp

Andrew Holman2
Andrew Holman2 Member ✭✭
edited December 2019 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
I am new to flex radios and ham in general.  I just purchased a Flex 6300, ACOM 600S and I already have an LDG-600ProII External Tuner.

With my current ALS-600 & FTdx-1200, I have to switch to stand-by, tune, flip the amp back on etc.

My question is, will this setup with the Flex 6300 work with the auto-tuner and new amp? I want to make this setup as seamless as possible.

Any help, guidance etc, would be fantastic.

Answers

• Jim Gilliam
    Jim Gilliam Member ✭✭
    edited October 2015
    The tuner can be damaged easily if you should try tune the tuner at high power. Be sure the tuner is always in standby (bypassing the amplifier) when you tune your antenna. Running too much power into the tuner while tuning can cause arcing and severely damage the relays at higher power levels. However if you follow those safeguards, everything should be automatic assuming your antenna is within the tune parameters of the tuner specifications.
  • Mike NN9DD
    Mike NN9DD Member ✭✭
    edited October 2019
    If feel better with a 1000 ProII. Just a little protection. I'd hate to have a failure by having a touch more powers then the tuner can handle. I had a tuner fail once and needed new finals as a result. Mike N9DFD
  • Andrew Holman2
    Andrew Holman2 Member ✭✭
    edited May 2017
    Thanks I will look at a bigger tuner as well.

One thing the amp docs say is that through the RS232 interface the amp can receive an OPR or STB command. Is that something the Flex 6300 will do when tuning?