Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

DSTAR HF VOICE ISSUES

Kent Hufford
Kent Hufford Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows

I am the NCS of the International DSTAR HF Testing Net that meets 5 times a week. I’ve been doing this for over 4 years. I have a ICOM 9100, two ICOM 7100’s and a FLEX 6500 with the DV3000 USB drive.

I have 5-7 FLEX 6000 series radios on the nets out of 15-25 total

I don’t know who did the hardware or software engineering for DSTAR on the FLEX. Nor the testing. But with about 2 weeks of real use, below are some of the quirks, issues that should be looked into.

Compared to either ICOM DSTAR radio, the audio sounds low in strength/modulation. When someone tries to drive it higher, the audio starts “clipping”. A VERY obvious difference between ICOM and FLEX.

1. Compared to either ICOM DSTAR radio, the audio sounds has more BASS, even with the tone controls set to flat.

2. The set receive bandwidth of 9khz seems way to wide.

3. The set bandwidth of 9khz cannot be narrowed easily.

4. When you set a band for DSTAR. The software does not remember this, like other modes and it always reverts to SSB. When you turn off the radio, then back on, pick a band, it is on SSB, not a nice and quiet DSTAR mode.

5. The receive decode success of the FLEX on DSTAR seems less than either ICOM DSTAR radio. WE all hoped for a much better decode rate with the FLEX/DV3000.

Many of us with FLEX and 9100’s would like to sell our 9100’s, The FLEX DSTAR combo is not up to par yet.

Kent

KQ4KK

khufford@atlanticbb.net 

International DSTAR HF Testing NetSUMMER Schedule