Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Desires for SmartSDR & API

Mark_WS7M
Mark_WS7M Member ✭✭✭
edited June 2020 in New Ideas
I am fairly new to Flex radio but I jumped in because of the software interface. I've been doing software all my life and I can completely see how such a system could turn into something cool.

Here are some things I've not only heard but also would like to see Flex provide through SmartSDR and the API:

1) Remote access (WAN).  This needs to include tx/rx audio and the ability to remotely key for CW.  The abililty to fire up your laptop, connect to your radio from a hotel room and use it would be cool.  Yes you can do with VPN.  But I think native ability would be better.

2) Assuming #1 becomes a reality I really love the idea of making a slice available to other SmartSDR users.  I could imagine this would be on an invitation basis and once connected the slice looks and operates as if it was on your own flex.  Perhaps it has an additional annunciation showing it is remoted.   It would be a cool way to experience the world from another shack without the hassle of travel.

3) External API integration into SmartSDR.  I've done this for years with the software I've written.  You provide documentation and some basics on a protocol and a mechanism to setup the connection within SmartSDR.  The protocol would need to support things from simple data transfer to receiving data and posting it somewhere on a SmartSDR display.  It should also include controls.  This is a networked API meaning it can be manipulated over a network connection.  So a remote server, either over your LAN or even over the internet can provide data to SmartSDR.