Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Dead bands - Am I missing something?

Mark WS7M
Mark WS7M Member ✭✭
I've had to work a lot of weekends recently but today, Sunday Apr 2, at 1:00pm MST I decided to see what was up.  

I restarted my 6500 to be sure and went to 20m.  Totally dead.  Virtually zero signals.  I went to 40m.  Same thing.

I figured ok my antenna is a message.  Went outside and it's a up and in ok shape.  I gave it 10w of RF and got a good SWR.

I have a subscription to RHR that I really don't use but I logged in to one of the systems there and tuned up and down 40m CW.  Pretty  much dead.

Is today a world wide "don't send any RF day?"   Did Trump sign an executive order to ban Ham Radio?  What is going on?

-- feeling rather alone...   Mark WS7M

Answers

• K3DCW
    K3DCW Member ✭✭
    edited April 2019
    I've noticed the same thing today.  The K and A indices are not very high, but for whatever reason, things are quiet as can be here on the E. Coast.  Perhaps it is because Spring has sprung for a lot of people and they're outside enjoying the improving weather.  That, and no major contests to be had either. 
  • James Kennedy-WU5E
    James Kennedy-WU5E Member ✭✭
    edited June 2020

Product: Geophysical Alert Message wwv.txt
    :Issued: 2017 Apr 02 1800 UTC
    # Prepared by the US Dept. of Commerce, NOAA, Space Weather Prediction Center
    #
    #          Geophysical Alert Message
    #
    Solar-terrestrial indices for 01 April follow.
    Solar flux 101 and estimated planetary A-index 16.
    The estimated planetary K-index at 1800 UTC on 02 April was 2.

Space weather for the past 24 hours has been moderate.