Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

DC power to FLEX-6000 continuously?

Mike_N1MD
Mike_N1MD Member ✭✭
Is there any reason a FLEX-6000 radio should not have DC power continuously supplied to it? Keeping the power on certainly facilitates keeping the GPSDO unit updated and ready for use when the radio is turned on.
Tagged:

Answers

• Mack
    Mack Member ✭✭✭
    edited March 2019
    Mike, It won't hurt to leave DC power on the radio. I personally turn the DC power after after use. Using an external (aftermarket weather proof) antenna I find the GPS syncs in just a few minutes. I've been operating using this method for about the past five months. Mack W4AX
  • Tim - W4TME
    Tim - W4TME Administrator, FlexRadio Employee admin
    edited June 2020
    Mike, As you noted, if you have a GPSDO installed, leaving the DC power on the radio significantly shortens the time it takes for the GPS to discipline the XO. However if you do not have a GPSDO installed, when the radio powers up, it will take a little time for the OCXO (FLEX-6700) or the TCXO (FLEX-6500) to reach a stable temperature, so before that happens the radio will be slightly off frequency and the frequency will vary. This is true of all radios.
  • Al_NN4ZZ
    Al_NN4ZZ Member ✭✭✭
    edited December 2017