Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Broadband HF Dipoles In Use By FLEX-6000 Owners ?

With The FLEX-6000 Radios having the ability to simultaneously display virtually the entire HF spectrum it would seem desirable to have an antenna which provides a reasonable impedance match over the entire range (without frequency sensitive tuning).

(In my situation a basic dipole or vertical antenna are the only reasonable choices so I am restricting my considerations to those types.)

I have some knowledge of the literature covering the resistively terminated antenna types popularized over the past 30 - 50 years but would appreciate feedback from actual users of these antennas. (I'm aware of the 'fan-dipole' broadbanding technique but don't believe that it's practical in my situation.)

The two dipole style resistively terminated antennas that immediately come-to-mind are the folded-dipole (both 2 and 3 wire) and the 'Australian Dipole' (the first I heard of it was years ago in 'Ham Radio' when Bill Orr, W6SAI, mentioned it in his column).

Just today I came across a reference to the 'Robinson-Barnes HF Broadband Antenna' but when I go to the manufacturer's Web Site (Bushcomm HF Antennas in Bayswater, Western Australia) their folded-dipole style antennas (they make some other types) look to me like terminated folded-dipoles (they use stainless-steel for the antenna wires and I'm reminded of the old Barker & Williamson broadband terminated folded-dipole of years past) and not something 'different'.

Are there members who have experience with resistively terminated dipole type antennas ? If so I'd like to hear from you - your experiences and opinions.

Thanks;