Boom for a PR 781?

• Question
  • Updated 3 months ago
I got myself a PR 781 mike to use with my 6500 and am now looking for a boom arm to use with it.  The prices range from 20 to over 100!  Any specific recommendations\thoughts?  Would I need or find any advantage from a shock mount?  What is it supposed to do?
Thanks and 73,
Bob, WK2Y

Photo of Bob Gerzoff, WK2Y

Bob Gerzoff, WK2Y

• 197 Posts
  • 17 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

Photo of Tim - G7GFW / F4VQP

Tim - G7GFW / F4VQP

• 170 Posts
  • 72 Reply Likes
Have a look on Amazon or Ebay - lots of them about from about $7 upwards

Bob Gerzoff, WK2Y

• 197 Posts
  • 17 Reply Likes
That's my dilemma.  I am wondering if the extra $ for some of them is worth it.  I'm just a casual operator, ragchewer. 
Photo of WW1SS - Steve

WW1SS - Steve

• 750 Posts
  • 256 Reply Likes
I got a Heil HB-1 to go with the 781. Nice finish and works nice . . . No squeaks when you move it. Was like $65
Photo of Ted  VE3TRQ

Ted VE3TRQ

• 416 Posts
  • 143 Reply Likes
I bought a cheap “Newer” boom, and regretted it almost right away - too short, poor mechanism to control the bends, weak spring, etc. I found unless you pay over $100 (in Canada, everything is more expensive - maybe $65 at Amazon.com:-), you don’t get a great arm.

Bob Gerzoff, WK2Y

• 197 Posts
  • 17 Reply Likes
Thanks.  Good to know.

Photo of Neil   N4FN

Neil N4FN

• 78 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
The boom I use is made by RHODE, it is less than the Heil unit but not a cheapie
Neil  N4FN
Photo of Ted  VE3TRQ

Ted VE3TRQ

• 416 Posts
  • 143 Reply Likes
That was the “more expensive” one I was referring to above. Solid quality, but C$150 now :-(

Bob Gerzoff, WK2Y

• 197 Posts
  • 17 Reply Likes
At that price, it should also be sturdy enough to use as a weapon :-O
Photo of Scott Russell - N1SER

Scott Russell - N1SER

• 130 Posts
  • 66 Reply Likes