Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Anyone on here a really good '**** client' graphics developer?

Walt - KZ1F
Walt - KZ1F Member ✭✭
edited November 2016 in SmartSDR API
There are some subtle nuances of client side graphics programming I'd like to find someone to discuss this with. This will be really advanced high performance type stuff. If it were the late 80's Windows world, I wouldn't need to ask but its not, so I do. Thanks! Walt

Answers

• Mark_WS7M
    Mark_WS7M Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2016
    Hi Walt,

Are you looking for help?  And in what language?  I'm a device programmer but over the years I've been yanked into the WPF world kicking and screaming.  Send me an email and we should talk:  ws7m@arrl.net
  • Walt - KZ1F
    Walt - KZ1F Member ✭✭
    edited November 2016
    Not so much help. I, pretty much ended my graphical Windows programming late 80s, pre MFC. Back then there were 'optimizations' on could make with regard to scrolling. Specifically, your program would capture the wm_scroll event, you would then issue a winscrollwindow to scroll from y=1 to Ymax-1. You'd then wininvalidatewindow the entire width of y=0. Or you could redraw the entire window. The facilities now, be it android, or javafx8 or, best I can tell, WPF, simply leave no apparent option but to redraw the entire window. This appears to be what ssdr does and is what XPSSDR does. XPSSDR runs under 2% CPU so there is no, apparent, performance issue but it feels to me an awful lot of unnecessary work is being done. So it isn't tied to language, rather graphics technology.