Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

als 600s amplfier connection to the 6400M

KB4OIF
KB4OIF Member ✭✭
With the 6400M Flex, is it compatible with the ALS 600 Amplifier.  

Comments

• Tim - W4TME
    Tim - W4TME Administrator, FlexRadio Employee admin
    edited January 2018
    Yes. Just like all the other FLEX-6000s.
  • KB4OIF
    KB4OIF Member ✭✭
    edited March 2018
    Thanks  Tim.  I am just getting started with flex radio's. My Buddy W9NWR up in Wis. runs a 6500.   
  • Tim - W4TME
    Tim - W4TME Administrator, FlexRadio Employee admin
    edited January 2018
    Connecting the ALS-600 is not as straightforward as with other amps.  When you get ready to do it, I recommend sending a post to the Community to get information on the "best" way to do it (there are several ways to skin the ALS-600 "cat" (there is a pun in there)
  • KB4OIF
    KB4OIF Member ✭✭
    edited January 2018
    Thanks.  My ALS 600 does not like SWR above 1.7.    What is the ratio on the flex tuners  Is it 10 to 1 or something else.  3 to 1.

• WX7Y
    WX7Y Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2020
    With the ALS-600 to control the Band to follow the radio you will need the MFJ ARB-704 interface and a FTDI cable ACC-USBPARALLEL  that FLEX offers with flying leads, wired as BCD into the ARB-704.

I think the FTDI serial port cable will also work but been to many years for me to remember since I used the ARB-704 and it MAY need a Null Modem adapter, run it in Kenwood Mode.