Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

6300 vs TS-830S

Kevin Mahoney
Kevin Mahoney Member ✭✭
I am brand new to my 6300 and can only operate with the most obvious functions. No complaint just learning.  I also have a Kenwood TS-830S Goldline with all of the filters.Some  say it is one of the finest receivers out there. I have been running side by side non-scientific comparisons. I was quite surprised at the number of stations I could hear clearly that I could not hear at all or not decipher on the 830. Very happy I have moved in this direction, Love this radio!  

Comments

• Steve W6SDM
    Steve W6SDM Member ✭✭✭
    edited December 2014
    And that's just the beginning.  You will find that as the enhancements in 1.5 come about, you will be able to work even more stations that you couldn't hear before.

Welcome to the Flex community.
  • Jay -- N0FB
    Jay -- N0FB Member ✭✭
    edited December 2019
    Welcome to the world of Direct Digital Sampling radios.  You'll never go back to a super heterodyne again.  The inherent lower noise floor of the Flex receiver is going to allow you to hear things you never knew were there.  

With your new Flex, you have an infinite number of filters.  And they are brick walls.  They are amazing!  

Welcome to the group!!!
  • Mike Whatley
    Mike Whatley Member ✭✭
    edited March 2015
    Kevin....

In another time, I would have challenged you to a Duel over such a slur on the venerable TS-830.  Whenever I work someone on the air and they tell me they're running an 830, I uncontrollably jump up and snap to attention as if a Drill Sgt. entered the barracks! Laughs.