Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Two PowerSDR display features on SmartSDR?

vectorizer
vectorizer Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows
I had been using PowerSDR for about 5 years with Flex 5000, 3000, and 1500 radios. Now I'm using SmartSDR v3.0.27 with a Flex 6500 for a few months and obviously still learning. There are two display features of PowerSDR that I sorely miss, and was wondering if there's a configuration, plugin, or other cleverness that would restore these:

1) While SmartSDR's SWR bar meter is nice, it only goes up to "3"; PowerSDR has a numeric readout that goes far into double digits. I use the software SWR readout to adjust my transmatch to use my humble doublet antenna, and my SWR is typically far above 3 when I switch bands. Can I get a numeric readout or any other much wider SWR display in SmartSDR?

2) PowerSDR displays U.S. band segment info like General vs. Extra, CW vs. Phone vs beacons, and some calling frequencies like for SSTV and AM. Can I get that in SmartSDR?

-- Pete K0BAK

[I tried but failed to find a previous discussion of these features, which surprised me.]

Answers

• Steve Sterling
    Steve Sterling Member ✭✭
    edited December 2019
    There are no settings you are missing-- SmartSDR doesn't do several things as well as PSDR-- my biggest beef is the lame "diversity" mode for the Flex 6700 (dual receivers). Others have made the same observations and at least your 2) was mentioned by several on a recent "what are your priorities" survey Flex folks sent out. For your 1) I just have to use the SWR meter on my transmatch for the reason you point out.