Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Noise Levels and FT8 - My new 6600 seems to have poor hearing

Kevin Rich
Kevin Rich Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows
I just received my 6600 yesterday and getting it up and on the air was super easy. I watched a few videos from Mike and have SmartSDR installed and DAX and CAT configured to work with  WSJT-X. Having everything built in to the rig and software that works out of the box is great and this was the easiest setup I have done for digital operations. 

A little more background. I have been operating digital modes for a couple of years and with various rigs including a FTdx-3000, FT-991, IC-9100, and Elecraft K3S. I also have an SDRPlay RSP2 and HDSDR running. Out of all the rigs I use, sadly the SDRPlay RSP2 w/HDSDR performs better than the rest for decoding signals and "hearing" things I just can't hear on the other rigs. Because of that, I recently sold the K3S and bought the 6600 assuming that it should perform at least as well as the SDRPlay and probably much better but so far that is not the case and I can only assume I do not have things setup correctly because the SDRPlay is decoding WAY more signals than the new 6600. The 6600 does decode and I have made QSOs but in every interval the SDRPlay decodes 3x to 5x more signals and in the examples where they both decode the same signal the 6600 is 10 -  15 dB weaker (i.e +2 vs -14).