Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

New to Flex SDR radios, Question on SmartSDR and 6400M

Thomas NE7X
Thomas NE7X Member ✭✭
edited November 2019 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
I am new to Flex and SmartSDR, so I have a basic question.

I have a pre-order for a 6400M. My main interest in purchasing the "M" model was because I do not want it to be a requirement to use an external PC to operate the radio. I want the radio to be 100% stand-along and not tethered to a PC for operation. Its OK to required a PC to perform updates and configurations to the radio, however once the update has been performed, I want to dethatch the radio from the PC. 

QUESTION

When the radio is connected to the PC and I make configuration changes (Example: To the Panadapter colors) using SmartSDR, and then disconnect the PC from the radio, will the changes made under SmartSDR stay configured on the radio?

NE7X...

Answers

• Tim - W4TME
    Tim - W4TME Administrator, FlexRadio Employee admin
    edited January 2018
    Most configuration changes are stored in the radio.  Some configuration changes are "client" specific and are stored locally.  By client, I mean the interface that comments to the radio, be it SmartSDR for Windows, SmartSDR for iOS, a Maestro or the front panel of an M series radio (SmartSDR-M).

• Thomas NE7X
    Thomas NE7X Member ✭✭
    edited March 2018
    Since I will only be using my 6400M in "stand alone" mode, do I still need to purchase a SmartSDR license in order to perform firmware updates to the radio?
  • KY6LA_Howard
    KY6LA_Howard Member ✭✭✭
    edited June 2018
    the 6400M already includes a V2 SSDR License
  • Ria
    Ria Member ✭✭✭